Second Rindge Meeting HouseJanuary 09. 2014 3:30PM
Marker Number: 138
Name and date established: Rindge 1980
Description: This Meeting House was an outgrowth of the time when Proprietors of the town were responsible for the encouragement of religion. It was built in 1796 when church and state were intertwined. Until 1819, regardless of denomination and belief, residents were considered members of this parish and their tax money supported the minister. In 1839 the town became owner of this edifice and the church society its tenant and this arrangement remains today. This building of simple colonial architecture still embraces some of the religious and civil affairs of the community and stands as a monument to pure democracy.
Location: Located on Main Street in Rindge Center, off the west side of Route 202 and south of Route 119. The Second Rindge Meeting House was listed on the National Register in 1979.