Center Meeting House


January 09. 2014 3:24PM






Intersection of Route 103 and 103-A
Newbury, NH

Marker Number: 81
Name and date established: Newbury 1971

Description: This edifice of Bulfinch design was rebuilt here about 1832 with old timbers from the Meeting House of Bly Hill. Its age, name, and denomination remain uncertain. The building has become known as a museum piece of the 1820 decade. Its beautiful high, colonial pulpit, with pews facing the vestibule, renders it unique among New Hampshire churches.

Location: Located at the intersection of Route 103 and Route 103-A adjacent to the House property. The Center Meeting House was listed on the National Register in 1979.
FOLLOW US
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow our RSS feed
Union Leader app for Apple iPad or Android *
Click to download from Apple Apps StoreClick to download from Android Marketplace
* e-Edition subscription required

Historical Markers

Example blog post alt Roadside History: Thaddeus S.C. Lowe -- aeronaut, scientist and inventor (1832-1913)
Example blog post alt Roadside History: Major Andrew McClary, 2nd in command to Col. John Stark of the 1st N.H. Regiment
Example blog post alt Roadside History: Mast Tree Riot of 1734 -- Local lumbermen felled trees meant for the king's navy
Example blog post alt Roadside History: Levi Woodbury (1798-1851) served in all 3 US government branches and as NH governor
Example blog post alt Roadside History: Major John Simpson, most remembered for something he may not have done
Example blog post alt Roadside History: Molly Stark House and Home of the Molly Stark Cannon