Center Meeting House


January 09. 2014 3:24PM






Intersection of Route 103 and 103-A
Newbury, NH

Marker Number: 81
Name and date established: Newbury 1971

Description: This edifice of Bulfinch design was rebuilt here about 1832 with old timbers from the Meeting House of Bly Hill. Its age, name, and denomination remain uncertain. The building has become known as a museum piece of the 1820 decade. Its beautiful high, colonial pulpit, with pews facing the vestibule, renders it unique among New Hampshire churches.

Location: Located at the intersection of Route 103 and Route 103-A adjacent to the House property. The Center Meeting House was listed on the National Register in 1979.
FOLLOW US
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow our RSS feed
Union Leader app for Apple iPad or Android *
Click to download from Apple Apps StoreClick to download from Android Marketplace
* e-Edition subscription required

Historical Markers

Example blog post alt Roadside History: Captain Josiah Crosby / Lieutenant Thompson Maxwell
Example blog post alt Roadside History: Bound Rock in Hampton is one of the oldest boundary markers in U.S.
Example blog post alt Roadside History: Exeter served as NH's capital for 14 years
Example blog post alt Roadside History: Surry Mountain 
Gold Mine and Lily Pond
Example blog post alt Roadside History: Greenfield Town Meeting House is oldest NH meeting house serving church and state
Example blog post alt Roadside History: Belmont's Lochmere Archaeological District