Center Meeting House


January 09. 2014 3:24PM






Intersection of Route 103 and 103-A
Newbury, NH

Marker Number: 81
Name and date established: Newbury 1971

Description: This edifice of Bulfinch design was rebuilt here about 1832 with old timbers from the Meeting House of Bly Hill. Its age, name, and denomination remain uncertain. The building has become known as a museum piece of the 1820 decade. Its beautiful high, colonial pulpit, with pews facing the vestibule, renders it unique among New Hampshire churches.

Location: Located at the intersection of Route 103 and Route 103-A adjacent to the House property. The Center Meeting House was listed on the National Register in 1979.
FOLLOW US
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow our RSS feed
Union Leader app for Apple iPad or Android *
Click to download from Apple Apps StoreClick to download from Android Marketplace
* e-Edition subscription required

Historical Markers

Example blog post alt Roadside History: 'America's Stonehenge' is found at Mystery Hill in Salem
Example blog post alt Roadside History: First Ski School in America
Example blog post alt Roadside History: Kilburn Brothers Stereoscopic View Factory offered early 3D technology
Example blog post alt Roadside History: Sunset Baseball
Example blog post alt Roadside History: The Cornish Artists' Colony
Example blog post alt Roadside History: 'Captain Lovewell's War' against the Abenaki