NH Club Notes: NH Garden Federation hosts 85th annual meeting

June 27. 2018 10:47PM
Members of the N.H. Federation of Garden Clubs' Executive Board gather at their 2018 annual meeting at Keene Country Club. From left are Pat Mulone, recording secretary; Sue Miner, first vice president; Fern Doucette, District 1 director; Joyce Kimball, state president; Fiona McKenna, District 2 director; Dian Mathews, District 3 director; and Susan Davis, District 4 director. Also on the board are JD McFarlane, second vice president; Jean Lawrie, treasurer; Jackie Lutkevich, assistant treasurer; Mary Kaltenbach, parliamentarian; and Lolly Fleming, corresponding secretary. (COURTESY)

KEENE — The New Hampshire Federation of Garden Clubs recently hosted its 85th annual meeting and luncheon at the Keene Country Club.

The meeting was hosted by NHFGC’s District III, which comprises the Clare-mont, Fitzwilliam, New London, Old Homestead (Keene and Swanzey) and Peterborough garden clubs. Presidents and members of the federation’s 19 garden clubs attended.

The meeting’s theme was “Planting ...” in reference to NHFGC President Joyce Kimball’s theme for her 2017-19 administration, “Plant New Hampshire ... Plant Today for Tomorrow.”

The day started with a business meeting and introduction of special guests, Susan Hinkel of Vermont, the 2017-19 director of New England Garden Clubs, and Arlene Field of Connecticut, first vice president of the Federated Garden Clubs of Connecticut.

Kevin Bragg, owner of Canterbury Plantation and Hands To Lend Fine Gardening in Canterbury, gave a presentation, “Green Thumbs in the White House,” which depicted the historical evolution of the White House grounds.

Reports were given by the district directors and the chairmen of committees for Life Membership, Penny Pines, Scholarship, Invasive Species, and the Blue Star Memorial Project. Kimball’s report highlighted the organization’s mission to provide “education, resources and statewide networking opportunities for its members to promote the love of gardening, floral design and civic and environmental responsibility.”

Kimball selected District IV, which comprises the Atkinson, Derry, Epping, Fremont, Sandown and Windham garden clubs, to receive this year’s President’s District Award, which is given to the district that has most advanced the objectives of the NHFGC and National Garden Clubs during the previous year.

Awards Chairman Jane Goodwin presented a variety of awards to the clubs for their special projects, programs and activities of the past year.

NHFGC general awards

• Barbara Colp Garden Therapy Award ($25): Old Homestead.

• The Governor’s Award: Atkinson.

• Joyce A. Kimball Horticulture Award ($25): Derry.

• Take a Child By the Hand Award ($50): Derry

• Community Improvement Award for Civic Development: Atkinson.

NHFGC Yearbook Award

• Small club: Goffstown Community, first; Hooksett, second; Fitzwilliam, third.

• Medium: New Hampton, first.

• Medium large club: Derry, first; Old Homestead, second; Atkinson, third; Bow, Manchester, Peterborough, Windham, honorable mentions.

• Extra large club: Mountain (Mount Washington Valley-based), first; New London, second.

NHFGC Scrapbook Award

• Small club: Fitzwilliam, first; Goffstown Community, second.

• Medium club: New Hampton, first.

• Medium large club: Derry, first; Bow, second; Old Homestead, third; Atkinson, honorable mention.

• Extra large club: Mountain, first; New London, second.

NHFGC Community Star Award (for a person who is not a garden club member for contribution to a community):

• District I: Michael Dowal, nominated by the New Hampton Garden Club.

• District IV: William Maloney, nominated by the Atkinson Garden Club.

NHFGC Silver Citation (for a member for special contribution to the work of the local garden club):

• Judy Guyette, nominated by the Old Homestead Garden Club.

• Linda Jette, nominated by the Atkinson Garden Club.

• Jean Perry, nominated by the Mountain Garden Club.

• Sylvia Roberts, nominated by the Derry Garden Club.

• Chris Tower, nominated by the Ashland Garden Club.

• Ann-Marie McCormack, nominated by the New Hampton Garden Club.

National Garden Clubs awards

• Civic Beautification Overall Winner ($100): Atkinson.

• Tommy Donnan Certificate of Merit: Derry, for its scrapbook, “History of the Derry Garden Club 1935-2017.”

The NHFGC will host its fall meeting Wednesday, Sept. 19, in Manchester at the Puritan Conference and Event Center. It will feature a small standard flower show and a presentation, “Taking the Mystery Out of Standard Flower Shows,” which will be presented by members of the New Hampshire Judge’s Council.

For more information about the N.H. Federation of Garden Clubs, visit www.nhfgc.org or contact Membership Chairman Susan Miner at membership@nhfgc.org.

Meredith Lions Club’s annual duck race July 4

MEREDITH — The Meredith Lions Club’s annual duck race will send about 4,000 rubber ducks cascading over Mill Falls at 4 p.m. Wednesday, the Fourth of July.

Tickets are one for $5 and five for $20. A portion of the proceeds will go to David’s House at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center in Lebanon.

Tickets may be purchased race day until 3:45 p.m. They also are for sale at the Meredith Area Chamber of Commerce, 272 Daniel Webster Highway, and in front of Hermit Woods Winery, 72 Main St., this weekend. For more sale locations, call Lion Marie at 279-6016.

The club also will raffle off a basket of “duckie” goodies under a tent the day of the race.

American Legion Post 33 will host a chicken barbecue that will get underway by noon in Hesky Park, where the Boy Scouts also will sell popcorn and hot dogs.

The Meredith 250th Committee will be at the Chase House across from the park at 2 p.m. to open a time capsule that was buried with town items from 1968 as part of Meredith’s bicentennial.

Manchester club installs officers, gives scholarships

MANCHESTER — The Manchester Women’s Club awarded academic scholarships to three students during its June meeting.

The scholarships are open to female Manchester-area residents who are graduating from a Manchester public high school. The recipients are chosen after the Scholarship Committee screens the applications and conducts interviews with the candidates.

This year’s awards were given to Gabriella Langella of Central High School, Taylor Mara of Memorial High School and Savanna Young of West High School.

Later during a luncheon, Doris Proulx led the installation of officers for 2018-19. Installed were: Brenda Pervanas and Liz Stavropoulos, co-presidents; Mary Panarese, treasurer; Edwige Steger, assistant treasurer; Joyce Champagne, recording/corresponding secretary; Dianne Robert, finance chairman; Pauline Grant, membership chairman; and Priscilla Dutile, Annette Mayo and Linda Tsiatsios, directors. The co-presidents spoke of their vision and goals for the coming year, which will begin in October.

The club also hosted its annual co-presidents’ fundraiser, an ice cream sundae social, at Steger’s home. This fundraiser helps to fund the scholarships, along with art, music and drama awards, presented by the club to students each year. Part of the club’s mission is to promote educational opportunities to students in Manchester’s public high schools.

Send news about clubs to family@unionleader.com. Please limit photos to 10 or fewer people and please identify everyone in the photo.

NH PeopleLifestyle

Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow our RSS feed
Union Leader app for Apple iPad or Android *
Click to download from Apple Apps StoreClick to download from Android Marketplace
* e-Edition subscription required