All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

Home | Golf

Bow's Champagne medalist at Red Ryan tourney

July 29. 2014 8:23PM

Doug Champagne, of Bow, chips onto the ninth green Tuesday morning in the Intermediate Division of the Red Ryan CYO Golf Tournament at Derryfield Country Club in Manchester. (JOSH GIBNEY/UNION LEADER)

Douglas Champagne of Bow captured the Intermediate Division medalist honors with a 68 Tuesday at the 57th annual Red Ryan CYO Golf Tournament at Derryfield Country Club in Manchester.

The tournament moves into a match play format today at 8 a.m. in the Intermediate and Junior Divisions. The Mite Division will stage three match play contests beginning at 9:12 a.m.

Conditions Tuesday morning were soggy from Monday’s rainstorms that hit the state. Champagne added a second medalist plaque to his trophy case. In 2012, he won medalist honors in the junior division. His one-under par 68 in the under-19 Intermediate Division on Tuesday was five shots better than runner-up Dylan Cowette of Bedford.

The 15-year-old Champagne, who was eligible to play in the under-16 Junior Division, opted to move up to Intermediate.

Champagne birdied three of his first five holes and finished the front side at two-under-par after a bogey on the ninth.

Bogeys on holes 13 and 18 coupled with a birdie on 17 completed his outstanding round.

Five players ended up tied at 74, including 2013 Junior Division medalist and match play runner-up Roman Ojala of New Ipswich.

Also in at 74 were 2012 Junior Division champion Joshua Lacasse of Bow, Macky Seppala of Rindge, John Cook of Manchester and Michael Jensen of Litchfield.

Despite carding the highest Junior Division medalist score since Bud Plomaritis’ 77 in 1969, Londonderry’s Dan Pleva made a good first impression in his inaugural Red Ryan event by shooting an eight-over-par 77 and garnering the No. 2 seed for match play.

Dover’s Eric Evans is the returning champion in the Junior Division and opted to take the automatic bid as the No. 1 seed. Evans warmed up on Tuesday by shooting a 78. Nashua’s Thomas Ethier and Brookline’s Cameron Sheedy followed Pleva with identical cards of 78 while Manchester’s Michael Kesselring checked in with a 79.

Bedford’s C.J. Ladue set a Mite Division (under 13, nine holes) record by shooting a four-over-par 38 on the hilly Derryfield front nine.

The 12-year-old Ladue, making his first appearance in the tournament, was four strokes better than Owen Cook and Matthew Simmons, both of Manchester, who came in at 42.

Rounding out the top six in the Mite championship flight are Jacob Tinker of Manchester (43), Nicholas Tufts of Manchester (44) and Parker Roberto of Bedford (44).

Semifinal and final rounds will be held on Thursday in all five flights, with awards ceremonies following on Thursday afternoon.

Tuesday Medal Round Results

Intermediate Division

Douglas Champagne, Bow, 68; Dylan Cowette, Bedford, 73; Joshua Lacasse, Bow, 74; Macky Seppala, Rindge, 74; Roman Ojala, New Ipswich, 74; John Cook, Manchester, 74; Michael Jensen, Litchfield, 74; Ethan Aube, Manchester, 75; Bennett Doherty, Bedford, 76; Austin Baker, Litchfield, 76; August Darula, Mont Vernon, 77; Jake Rand, Bow, 77; Roger Larrivee, Bedford, 78; Mathew Paulson, Merrimack, 78; Nick Stone, Londonderry, 78; Griffin Connor, Bow, 79; Jeremy Duhamel, Bow, 79; Jordan Oelkers, Merrimack, 80; Jordan Dahl, Northfield, 82; Christopher Saunders, Hampton, 82;  Chris Moquin, Hooksett, 82; Ashley Tewksbury, Lee, 82; Luciano Osorio, Hooksett, 83; Tyler Cole, Bow, 84; James Manning, Manchester, 85; Joey Larocca, Manchester, 86; Steve McFadden, Merrimack, 89; Alec Cassady, Lancaster, 89; Jack Reilly, Manchester, 92; Dawson Dickson, Manchester, 98

Junior Division

Dan Pleva, Londonderry, 77; Thomas Ethier, Nashua, 78; Cameron Sheedy, Brookline, 78; Michael Kesselring, Manchester 79; Brennen Gillis, Merrimack, 81; Ryan Stankiewicz, Amherst, 82; Griffin Gagne, Bedford, 83; Noah Olson, Sharon, 84; Demetrios Stamoulis, Manchester, 85; Graham Diack, Pelham, 86; Colin Plumb, Bow, 87; Jake Poitras, Manchester, 88; Jacob Rioux, Bedford, 88; Noah Greenwood, Manchester, 88; Jacob Carrier Manchester, 88; Connor Robert, Bedford, 89; Nicholas Edgeworth, Merrimack, 89; Ryan Fitzgerald, Hollis, 90; Curtis Wirbal, Merrimack, 93; Christopher Murphy, Hudson, 93; Ian MacDonald, Claremont, 94; Eric Keilty, Dover, 95; Chase Holombo, New Ipswich, 97; Stoughton Bell, Bedford, 98; Chris McSherry, Bedford, 101; Jay Roberto, Bedford, 103; Zachary Augusta, Windham, 104; Noah Bahan, Londonderry, 108; Andrew Teris, Nashua, 111; Stephen Duckett, Manchester, 123

Mite Division

C.J. LaDue, Bedford, 38; Owen Cook, Manchester, 42; Matthew Simmons, Manchester, 42; Jacob Tinker, Hooksett, 43; Nicholas Tufts, Auburn, 44; Parker Roberto, Bedford, 44; Gunnar Senatore, Bedford, 45; Sam Reynolds, Alton, 46; Scott Senatore, Bedford, 47; T.J. Gillis, Nashua, 47; Michael McLean, Dunbarton, 47; Alex Gagne, Bedford, 47; Jack Fitzgerald, Hollis, 47; Camden Labonville, Auburn, 48; Owen Roberto, Bedford, 48; Cam Wasylak, Bedford, 48; Asa Dupuis, Manchester, 49; Chris McQuinn, Auburn, 50; Ryan Sweeney, Hooksett, 52

Match Pairings-Today

Intermediate Division-Championship Flight (first tee)

8:00: Douglas Champagne vs Griffin Connor; Ethan Aube vs Bennett Doherty; 8:09: Macky Seppala vs Roger Larrivee; Roman Ojala vs Jake Rand; 8:18: Dylan Cowette vs Nick Stone; Michael Jensen vs Austin Baker; 8:27: Joshua Lacasse vs Mathew Paulson; John Cook vs August Darula

Intermediate Division-1st Flight (first tee)

8:36: Jeremy Duhamel draws a Bye; Tyler Cole vs James Manning; 8:45: Christopher Saunders vs Jack Reilly; Chris Moquin vs Alec Cassady; 8:54: Jordan Oelkers draws bye: Luciano Osorio vs Joey Larocca; 9:03: Jordan Dahl vs Dawson Dickson; Ashley Tewksbury vs Steve McFadden

Junior Division-Championship Flight

8 a.m. (10th round) Eric Evans vs Jacob Carrier; Griffin Gagne vs Noah Olson; 8:09: Cameron Sheedy vs Jake Poitras; Mike Kesselring vs. Colin Plumb; 8:18: Dan Pleva vs Noah Greenwood; Ryan Stankiewicz vs Demetrios Stamoulis; 8:27: Thomas Ethier vs Jacob Rioux; Brennen Gillis vs. Graham Diack

Junior Division-1st Flight (10th tee)

8:36: Connor Robert draws bye; Chase Holombo vs Stoughton Bell; 8:45: Curtis Wirbal vs Noah Bahan; Christopher Murphy vs Zachary Augusta; 8:54: Nicholas Edgeworth vs Stephen Duckett; Eric Keilty vs Chris McSherry; 9:03: Ryan Fitzgerald vs Andrew Teris; Ian MacDonald vs Jay Roberto

Mite Division-Championship Flight

(first tee)

9:12: Camden Labonville vs Ryan Sweeney; Owen Roberto vs Chris McQuinn; 9:21: Cam Wasylak vs Asa Dupuis

Golf Manchester

Newsletter Signup