All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

Home | Education

North Country teachers honored for 'extraordinary teaching abilities and commitment to education'

Union Leader Correspondent

June 08. 2014 8:14PM

DIXVILLE — For their “extraordinary teaching abilities and commitment to education,” three North Country teachers were recently named recipients of the Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowship.

The fellowships, which include a $10,000 grant, were awarded to Mary Trask, physical education and health teacher at Colebrook Academy; Michele Ladd, sixth-grade teacher at the Lancaster School; and Catherine DiBlasi, special educator at the Whitefield School.

In addition to the Fellowship Awards, the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation, which administers them, presented $1,000 Tillotson professional-development scholarships to Carissa Caron, Title One teacher, and Lynda True-Carter, guidance counselor, both from Edward Fenn Elementary School in Gorham; Jennifer Corrigan, math and business teacher at Gorham Middle/High School; Jessica Haynes, preschool and kindergarten teacher at the Pittsburg School; and Joy Steward, grade 5-8 science and math teacher at the Stewartstown Community School.

The late Louise Tillotson, of Dixville Notch, established the Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowship in 2006 to recognize excellence in teaching in public schools.

Her attorney, Benjamin Gayman of Devine Millimet, Pa., said she “had great confidence in the fact that a strong education system would boost the community as a whole.”

“We are pleased to offer this fellowship program generously made possible by Louise Tillotson,” said Peter Benson, senior program officer at the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation. “The fellowship allows us to recognize the amazing teachers we have in the North Country and helps raise public awareness about the value of excellence in education.”

The Fellowship Selection Committee included: Benson; Katherine Eneguess, president, White Mountains Community College; Robert Mills, superintendent of SAU #7; Irene Mosedale, former director of the North Country Teacher Certification Program at Plymouth State University; Gail Paine, former New Hampshire Board of Education member; Rolanda Duchesne, Director of Granite United Way — Northern Region; Susan Wyman, retired math teacher from Milan; and educators and past recipients.

Education Human Interest NH People Dixville

More Headlines