All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

Home | Business

Greater Derry-Londonderry Chamber of Commerce scholarship named in memory of Pinkerton student

Union Leader Correspondent

February 16. 2014 8:14PM

DERRY — The Board of Directors of the Greater Derry-Londonderry Chamber of Commerce has voted to rename a scholarship for a Pinkerton student who died following a New Year’s Eve crash.

The death of Kyle Ross, 17, provoked an emotional response from students and sent the Pinkerton community into mourning.

Ross was driving the car that went out of control and slammed into a tree at a high rate of speed at Gulf Road and Hampshire Drive, according to police.

Passenger, Johanna Morse, 16, of Derry, is recovering from severe injuries she sustained in the crash. A third Pinkerton student, Thompson Upham-Davis, 16, of Chester, suffered injuries that were non-life-threatening, according to police.

In Ross’ honor, the board recently chose to rename the annual scholarship for graduating high school seniors for him, said Stacey Bruzzese, the chamber’s executive director.

It will now be called the Kyle B. Ross Memorial Scholarship, she said.

Ross’ father, Bernard Ross, served on the Chamber’s Board of Directors for six years, Bruzzese said. The elder Ross was an integral part of the chamber’s government connection’s committee and also participated in other activities with the chamber, Bruzzese said.

The scholarship is awarded annually in the amount of $1,000; but the chamber is working to grow both the amount of the award given, as well as the amount awarded through its annual Taste of the Town fundraiser, Bruzzese said.

The award is given out during the awards season at area high schools, which is usually in late May. The selection committee is reviewing applicants based on merit, along with extra-curricular activities, volunteer encounters and leadership roles while in high school, Bruzzese said.

Business High schools Human Interest Derry Business Columns

More Headlines

GBCC selects new president