All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

Home | Motor Sports

Tom Herzig's Trackside: 48th Star Classic set for Saturday at Star Speedway

September 04. 2013 9:48PM

BACK FROM big Labor Day weekend out in Oswego, N.Y. — where 2012 ISMA Supermodified champion Mike Lichty came out on top in the Shea Concrete Super Series event, thereby winning the four-race Series — the winged supers are set to convene at Star Speedway Saturday for the 48th Star Classic.

ISMA heats begin a 5 p.m. The race card includes Outlaws, NEMA Midget Lites, Strictly Stocks and Roadrunners. Ron Bolduc of Plaistow once again ruled the Outlaw Big John 59 Saturday at Star. Josh Cantara was the Modified winner. Rob MacRae of Billerica, Mass. won the Strictly Stock main. Billy Osborne of Plaistow carried the Roadrunner checkers.Russ Wood, the all-time Star Classic win leader (7) and the winner in each of the last two Classics will likely not compete unless car owner Jeff Holbrook has a change of heart, but Wood is slated, along with Chris Perley, to pilot fans around the quarter-mile in the ISMA two-seater from 1:15-1:45. Strap in, hang on and enjoy.!

Unfortunately, ISMA and Lee USA were not able to settle on a date to make up the rained out Ollie Silva Memorial event. Both parties offered up possible dates to the other without success. Lee for its part, has found competing with State Fairs like Rochester and Deerfield tough sledding in the past. “ISMA suggested the possibility of a Friday race leading into the Star Classic,” Lee’s Judy MacDonald said, “but we felt fans might choose one or the other given the ticket prices with a possible preference to Saturday. Given the size of the purse, it would be quite a risk.”

Tomorrow night is Championship Night for all Lee USA divisions. The current point leaders are Small Block Supermodifieds: 1) Tommy Tombarello, Haverhill, Mass. (807) 2) Mike Netishen Jr., Auburn (798). Late Model Sportsmen: 1) Grant Aither, Kingston (762) 2) JR Baril, Haverhill, Mass. (660). Hobby Stocks: 1) Patrick Tanguay, Lebanon, Maine, (697) 2) Jim Piasecsny, Merrimack (681). Ironmen: 1) Travis Hollins, Milford (747), 2) Hannah Shaw, Chester (684).

Joey Doiron of Berwick had himself quite a night Saturday at White Mountain. Doiron won a pair of PASS 150’s. In the first event, a make-up of an earlier rain-out, Canadian Karl Allard was second with Ben Rowe third. In the nightcap, Doiron bested DJ Shaw of Center Conway and Cassius Clark. Todd Aldrich of North Haverhill had a triple crown night in the Late Model division.

This Saturday, White Mountain has a regular event plus a Twisted Tea Dwarf Car Special sponsored by Hills Heating Services LLC and All Access Real Estate Associates. The last Dwarf Car race, a few weeks back, had a wild ending as driver Andy Hill can attest. After climbing the wall, Hill slid down the frontstretch with the nose of the car pointing skyward and then hammered the wall.

The Valenti Modifieds are back in action tomorrow night at Stafford. Last week, Steve Masse of Bellingham, Mass prevailed on the 5/8-mile. It was Masse’s third win in 2013, but he’s looking uphill at point leaders Rowan Pennink, Louie Mechalides and Tommy Barrett Jr, who have 20 top-fives between them.

The Sprint Cars of New England got two of three Triple Crown races in over the weekend. The Saturday race at Bear Ridge got washed out. Dan Douville of Bridgewater was a winner Friday at Canaan and placed second to Tyler Rich of Lyme Sunday night at Legion Speedway. Clay Dow and Lacey Hanson were two-three at Canaan. Chris Donnelly finished third at Legion.

Rookie Travis Stearns of Auburn, Maine, drove to his first career American Canadian Tour victory in the 35th annual Vermont Foodbank Labor Day Classic 200 at Thunder Road. Stearns was driving for car owner Richard Green, whose last ACT win was in 2004.

Two-time Thunder Road Champion Dave Pembroke led the entire first half race, but after caution number two on lap 116, Pembroke went in for tires and then stalled on the exit of pit road. Unable to get the car refired, Pembroke wound up on the tail of the field.

Stearns inherited the lead and held up under a late race rally by Brian Hoar and Tour point leader Wayne Helliwell Jr., who rose from 17th to finish third. Pembroke recovered to take fourth. Nick Sweet completed the top five. Current ACT runner-up Joey Polewarczyk Jr. was sixth.

Stearns becomes the 14th qualifier for the Fifth annual Bond Auto ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Saturday, Sept.r 21.

Sunday winners at Hudson Speedway – Outlaws/Todd Warren, Thunder Lights/Max Dolliver, Rookie Stocks/Jason Ryan. Jarrod Soucy of Marlboro, Mass., won his seventh Roadrunner feature.

Riverside Speedway in Groveton hosts the Granite State Pro Stock Series Saturday.

Tom Herzig’s column appears weekly in the New Hampshire Union Leader. Email him at

Motor sports