Nackey S. Loeb School seeks First Amendment protectors

August 17. 2013 6:23PM

MANCHESTER - The Nackey S. Loeb School of Communications seeks to honor New Hampshire residents who have worked to protect free speech and free press.

Nominations are open for the school's 11th annual First Amendment Award, honoring diligence in protecting free press and free speech liberties. Recipients will be recognized Nov. 12 at a luncheon at the Executive Court Conference Center in Manchester.

A committee of judges chooses recipients from public nominations. First Amendment recipients receive a bronze eagle sculpture created by Mrs. Loeb and a $1,500 award.

Award details and nomination forms are available at or by calling the school at 627-0005. The deadline for nominations is Sept 13.

The award and the school are legacies of the late Nackey S. Loeb, president and publisher of the New Hampshire Union Leader and Sunday News.

Past recipients include former New Hampshire Attorney General Philip McLaughlin, former Keene Sentinel Executive Editor Thomas F. Kearney, The Laconia Citizen, political activist and former legislator Daniel Hughes, former Dover City Councilor David Scott, Londonderry High School journalism adviser Mary Lukas, First Amendment attorney William Chapman, former ConVal School Board member Gail Pierson Cromwell, The Portsmouth Herald, and David Lang and the Professional Fire Fighters of New Hampshire.

The nonprofit Nackey S. Loeb School of Communications, Inc. was founded in 1999 to foster interest, integrity and excellence in journalism and other forms of communication.

It offers free classes and low-cost workshops in communications and media-related topics, taught by professionals from various New Hampshire media outlets and businesses.

EducationPoliticsSocial issues

Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow our RSS feed
Union Leader app for Apple iPad or Android *
Click to download from Apple Apps StoreClick to download from Android Marketplace
* e-Edition subscription required