All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

Home | Tom Herzig's Trackside

Tom Herzig's Trackside: Joey Pole, Jarvis are back for more

July 10. 2013 8:19PM

THEY’RE LIVING large down at Rocco’s Pizza Bar & Grill in Hudson these days. Rocco’s, along with New Hampshire Precision Metal Fabrication in Londonderry,, Dairy Queen and not to forget, Pole’s Automotive just off Rte 111 in Hudson, sponsor Joey Polewarczyk Jr.’s ACT Late Model No. 97. Joey Pole is going after the team’s fourth straight win at White Mountain Motorsports Park Saturday.

Polewarczyk Jr., defending ACT champion Wayne Helliwell Jr. and Eddie MacDonald put on a show at Star Speedway Saturday. A late restart moved Joey Pole off the bottom to the outside on the front row from where he finally got the upper hand for his third straight win. MacDonald wound up second with Helliwell’s EKeys4Cars No. 27 in third. Todd Davis of Claremont had his best Tour finish in fourth. Maine’s Rowland Robinson Jr. was fifth and Brent Dragon of Milton, Vt. was sixth.

When the Tour arrives at White Mountain — its last stop before the $140,000 ACT International 500 at Airborne Saturday/Sunday July 20-21, Helliwell Jr. will still be on top of the standings, 36 points ahead of Polewarczyk Jr.

White Mountain Late Model point leader Travis Fadden of North Haverhill drove the Patten’s Gas/River Meadow Campground No. 16 to victory in an open comp $1,500-to-win Late Model 100 last Saturday. Fadden took the lead from No. 2 point man Tyler Cahoon with 10 laps to go after a restart and side-by-side racing. Quinney Welch of Lancaster was third.

Prior Valenti Modified Series champion Chris Pasteryak led the first 66 laps of the Firecracker 100 at Monadnock, but in the end it was Dwight Jarvis of Ascutney, Vt., carrying the checkers. Jarvis is the fifth different winner in five events in 2013. The win was his fifth Series win at Monadnock and his seventh overall. Jarvis is a five-time Monadnock champion. Pasteryak held on for second. Jon McKennedy, Rowan Pennink and Richard Savary were 3-4-5.

Canaan Dirt has also moved to an earlier start time — 6:30 p.m. for tomorrow night’s Camper’s Paradise/Mascoma Savings Bank Make-A-Wish program, which includes SCoNE Sprint Cars. Chris Donnelly of Piermont is the SCoNE point leader. Randy Howe of Lebanon and Ryan Avery of Thornton are 1-2 in the Papa Z’s Modified standings.

The NEMA Midgets and the NEMA Lites join the race card at Lee USA Speedway tomorrow night.Gary Siemons of Orford won the Modified main at Legion Speedway Sunday. The Granite State Mini Sprints are at Legion this Sunday.

Monadnock is on summer break this weekend. Riverside stays dark as well.Ryan Preece of Berlin, Conn., arrives at New Hampshire Motor Speedway for Saturday’s Town Fair Tire 100 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event on a three-race winning streak. Preece’s last win came on the tight bull ring at Riverhead Speedway on Long Island. Last year’s Town Fair Tire 100 was a white knuckler that Mike Stefanik won by fractions of a second over Ronnie Silk after many lead changes.

Sunday night at Thunder Road, Derrick O’Donnell of North Haverhill bested 16-year-old Joey M. Laquerre for the Late Model feature win. Laquerre, three months out of high school driver ed class (he passed) was followed to the line by his grandfather, Joey Laquerre, age 70, in third place.The Northeast Mini Stock Tour made its first appearance at Thunder Road. The Minis were racy, but their turnout, perhaps due to having had their original date rained out, was thin. Louis Maher of Spencer, Mass., won the event in the Finish Line Wholesalers Honda No. 69. It was the first NEMST win for Maher, who recently won a feature at Monadnock and is a prior two-time Roadrunner champion at Hudson.

Tonight, Thunder Road offers the Governor’s Cup Late Model 150 with one Clint Bowyer from Emporia, Kan., set to join the field.

Tom Herzig’s column appears weekly in the New Hampshire Union Leader. Email him at