All Sections

Home | Motor Sports

NHMS Notebook: Tough to put together a win streak at NHMS

July 10. 2013 8:19PM

LOUDON Jimmie Johnson won both NASCAR Sprint Cup races at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in 2003.Kurt Busch did the double in 2004.

Those are the only two times any driver has won consecutive races at NHMS, either in the same season or spanning years.

Both Busch and Johnson have won a New Hampshire Cup race since then.

But it was Busch's win in the Lenox Industrial Tools 301 on June 29, 2008 that started the current streak of 10 different winners in the last 10 races at New Hampshire, the longest active Cup streak going at any track.

New Hampshire winners, in order, since that last Busch victory have been Greg Biffle, Joey Logano, Mark Martin, Johnson, Clint Bowyer, Ryan Newman, Tony Stewart, Kasey Kahne and Denny Hamlin.

Biffle, Stewart and Logano were among the drivers who came here and tested a couple of weeks ago.

"We race twice here, it's a flat racetrack with newer type pavement and we feel like we can learn a little bit here for other racetracks, or trends that we can try to get to work at other racetracks," Biffle said when asked why his Fenway Roush team chose to take one of its limited tests at NHMS.

He'll see if he can pick off another win here, too.

Biffle had slipped in the point standings to No. 13 after a string of rough finishes — he was 36th , 36th, 13th and 31st — but is now back up to eighth.


Logano's up-and-down season continued with a 40th-place finish at Daytona last week. Logano had jumped four spots the previous week to No. 10 after the race at Kentucky and dropped back five to No. 15 after Daytona.

Still, he is only 18 points behind Kurt Busch in ninth place and 16 behind Tony Stewart in 10th. He also is only one in front of Newman.


Newman has become a regular in the Whelen Modified Tour race at NHMS and is entered in Saturday's Town Fair Tire 100 again. ... Andy Seuss of Hampstead, who has been racing out of Salisbury, N.C., is also in the Modified race. Seuss is fourth in points on the Whelen Southern Modified tour. He finished third in the last Southern tour race at Caraway Speedway in Sophia, N.C. on Friday. ... Ryan Preece has won the last three Whelen Modified Tour races this season and with another victory would become only the third driver to win four straight in the series, joining Richie Evans and Mike Stefanik. Preece is doing double duty this weekend and making his Nationwide Series debut.


Motor sports