All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In


Androscoggin Valley Hospital auxiliary president to receive Sylvia Evans Award

BERLIN - Linda Morris, president of the Androscoggin Valley Hospital's Auxiliary, will receive the 2013 Sylvia Evans Award by Coos County Family Health Services, according to CCFHS administrators.

"We had a field of extremely qualified candidates, many of whom are outstanding in their dedication to community service," said CEO Adele Woods. "However, one woman was exceptional for both the scale and the impact of her contribution to the Berlin-Gorham community."

Morris has served as president of the AVH Auxiliary for 10 years, and has recently begun a new term. The all-volunteer service includes 60-plus members who plan and volunteer at numerous events to raise funds for major medical equipment that makes patients more comfortable during their stay.

Morris is also chairwoman of the annual Christmas fair and Christmas memory tree, and serves on the annual golf tournament committee, which raises more than $40,000 each year.

A highlight of her achievements is the Impressions of Care Walkway Project, completed in 2007, which benefits patients and the community at large. Morris was nominated by Edwina Keene, volunteer coordinator, and Clare Vallee, vice president of nursing services.

"In her tenure, the AVH Auxiliary has raised in excess of $700,000," they wrote. "Through Linda's leadership, the hospital has realized significant improvements over the years."

Morris has also brought in new members, strengthened the organization, and Keene added, "She is a great ambassador and is highly regarded by her colleagues. Linda is always the first to lend a hand wherever needed. She is the go-to person when someone needs something done."

The Sylvia Evans Award provides an opportunity to highlight the extraordinary, often unrecognized, contributions that women have made to North Country families. It also presents early role models for young girls to emulate.

The award, which has been given each year since 1981, is named for the late Sylvia V. Forman Evans, a North Country pioneer in community service. The 2012 award winner was Nancy J. Malone, who runs the Tri-County CAP Retired Senior Volunteers Program.

The award ceremony will take place on April 5 at 7 p.m. at White Mountains Community College. The Ceremony is open to the public, but pre-registration is requested.

For more information, contact Linda Blanchette of Coos County Family Health Services at 752-3669, ext. 4014 or email

Post or View Comments 

Maple Sugar Madness Maple Sugar Madness
Saturday, 10 a.m., 11 a.m., 12 p.m., 1 p.m. or 2 p.m.