Home  Dartmouth-Lake Sunapee

March 12. 2013 11:10PM

Wind farm proposal loses in Grafton voting

GRAFTON – The incumbent selectman was ousted and a wind farm project got the thumbs down from voters Tuesday.

Sean Frost won a three-year term on the Select Board with 263 votes against incumbent David Rienzo, who had 193 votes and candidate Jeremy J. Olson, who received 80 votes.

Almost 60 percent, 549 voters, of the 921 registered voters in town turned out.

Article 14, which would regulate potential wind farm projects, passed 394 to 134.

Another article asking voters "to advise the Selectmen to REJECT the proposed Wild Meadow Wind Project" passed 334 to 190.

Town Clerk Bonnie J. Haubrich won in a race against Lindsay Dean, 421 to 114.

Road Agent Robert J. Bassett also retained his position in a race against Paul Jalbert, 294 to 224.

The proposed $825,956 budget, which was reduced 10 percent by voters at the deliberative session, failed, so the $940,366 default budget was adopted.

Many of the numerous petition articles failed, Town Clerk Haubrich said, including a petition article that would have prohibited the Select Board from evicting residents from their homes for unpaid taxes, a petition article that would have repealed the town's open container ordinance and a petition article that sought to cap all future town budgets.

 New Hampshire Events Calendar


Upcoming Events
Arts & Entertainment
Family, Community and Culture
Outdoors, Sports and Recreation

 New Hampshire Business Directory



Press Releases

Aerosmith's Steven Tyler And Joe Perry Win First-Ever Emmy


For the first time in their illustrious career, AEROSMITH's Steven Tyler and Joe Perry can add an Emmy to the long list of awards and accolades they've received.